Blanka and the Orchestra of the Sun

Not going to rant about religious nutjobs today, you can check the previous post for that sort of goodness. I’m away for a few more days yet, so to keep you busy in the meantime: the Argentine striker who was also a character in Street Fighter II. The Scottish polka band who stole my heart. The Indian deity who has an affinity with Ruth Park. Anti-gravity. The song of choice for the Bangladesh Tigers group dance routine. Yes: one of my favourite segments (can I call it a segment on its second edition?), in the form of photos of people looking ridiculous while engaged in sporting activity.

But first, music. My new favourite band is called Orkestra del Sol. Best thing I’ve heard in the last year or so. I listened to them on a truly painfully interminable bus ride home from the airport the other day, and I swear I would have flipped out into a Michael Douglas Falling Down sort of rage spiral without those tunes. People in my vicinity have been being subjected to them at any given moment. I didn’t know they were my new favourite band until I saw them play last week, having never heard of them. Cashmoney dragged me out by the ear after I tried to pike like a bitch. I’m pretty sure I owe her a baby or something now. (Speaking of baby currency, I just read ‘The Road’. Don’t ever do that to yourself. Word to the wise.)

This band is a fluctuating nine-to-twelvish-piece brass/polka/gypsy deal from Scotland, and they’re the best fun ever. Firstly watch this video, which will give you some idea of why this is the case. Then if you want to listen to them some more you can play songs from this page here. Then once that’s playing, you can read my miniature review here.

And if you like them, go and see them on Pledge Music, where they’re raising money for their next album. This basically just means you pre-order the album and register your details. If enough people pre-order to fund the album, then the album gets made, your donation gets sent, and you get the album when it’s done. If not enough funds are raised, you keep your money. Win/win. There are also package deals with extra stuff in them if you donate a little more than the minimum. Thoroughly worth it, I say. Click here to check it out.

My rather less miniature review of the Falls Festival is also up online, as well as a photo gallery, so check that out over at Wireless Bollinger.

And now, an insight into my childlike mind, in the form of photos that I found amusing and stole from various websites that I hope won’t sue me.

Carlos Tevez. Wears make-up to hide his green skin, but can still electrocute you if he crouches down for a few seconds. Street Fighter II originally said he was from Brazil, but... close enough.

Yes. Doug Bollinger can fly.

So can Didier Drogba.

Sachin Tendulkar. Now starring in the popular children's pantomime version of The Muddle-Headed Wombat.

 

Bangladesh's first win against England in over a decade of trying. Gotta love the way they cut the rug. I reckon it's 'Blame It On the Boogie'.

Shoaib Akhtar. The Rawalpindi Overexposure.





This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blanka and the Orchestra of the Sun

  1. Erin says:

    Cashmoney’s the best. Will definitely check out Orkestra del Sol after work tonight.

  2. Anth says:

    Man, white people love gypsy music right now.

Leave a Reply

