Córdoba postscript

POLICE OFFICER:             “Vení aca.”          (Come here.)

GEOFF:                                 “Que pasa?”       (What’s up?)

“Sabes que no podes tomar en la calle?” (You know you can’t drink in the street, right?)

“Estoy tomando Coca.” (I’m drinking Coke.)

“Y porque dos litros?” (Why are you drinking from a two litre bottle?)

“Er…tengo sed?” (I’m thirsty?)

“No podes tomar en la calle. Tirala ahi.” (You can’t drink in the street. Throw it in that bin.)

“Todo bien. Listo. Chau.” (Alright…done. See ya.)

“Y la botella de Fernet en tu bolsillo?”

GEOFF looks down. He does indeed appear to have a 750 ml bottle of 90-proof liquor protruding from his pocket.

“Esta cerrada.” (It’s sealed.)

“Da me la.” (Give it to me.)

“Mira! Esta cerrada.” (Look! It’s sealed.)

“No podes tomar en la calle.” (You can’t drink in the street.)

“Yo sé. Pero como puedo tomar si esta cerrada?” (I know. How I am I drinking it if it’s sealed?)

“No puede llevarla asi.” (You can’t carry it here.)

“Se venden en las tiendas. Si no podes llevar, como la gente lo lleva a casa?” (They sell it in shops. If you can’t take it in the street, how are people supposed to bring it home?)

Long silence.

“Donde vas?” (Where are you going?)

“La casa de un amigo.” (A friend’s place.)

“Donde esta?” (Where is it?)

“No sé. Estoy siguiendo mis amigos, esperandome ahi.” (I don’t know. I’m following my friends, the ones waiting over there at the corner.)

“De donde sos?” (Where are you from?)

“Australia.”

Sighs. “Hay algun Córdobese ahi?” (Is there someone from Córdoba here?)

“Córdobese, no. Cordobéstia, sí.”

“Que?”

.

.

.

POLICE OFFICER:             “Vení aca.” (Come here.)

GEOFF:                                 “Que pasa?” (What’s up?)

“Sabes que no podes tomar en la calle?” (You know you can’t drink in the street, right?)

“Estoy tomando Coca.” (I’m drinking Coke.)

“Y porque dos litros?” (Why are you drinking from a two litre bottle?)

“Er…tengo sed?” (I’m thirsty?)

“No podes tomar en la calle. Tirala ahi.” (You can’t drink in the street. Throw it in that bin.)

“Todo bien. Listo. Chau.” (Alright…done. See ya.)

“Y la botella de Fernet en tu bolsillo?”

GEOFF looks down. He does indeed appear to have a 750 ml bottle of 90-proof liquor protruding from his pocket.

“Esta cerrada.” (It’s sealed.)

“Da me la.” (Give it to me.)

“Mira! Esta cerrada.” (Look! It’s sealed.)

“No podes tomar en la calle.” (You can’t drink in the street.)

“Yo sé. Pero como puedo tomar si esta cerrada?” (I know. How I am I drinking it if it’s sealed?)

“No puede llevarla asi.” (You can’t carry it here.)

“Se venden en las tiendas. Si no podes llevar, como la gente lo lleva a casa?” (They sell it in shops. If you can’t take it in the street, how are people supposed to bring it home?)

Long silence.

“Donde vas?” (Where are you going?)

“La casa de un amigo.” (A friend’s place.)

“Donde esta?” (Where is it?)

“No sé. Estoy siguiendo mis amigos, esperandome ahi.” (I don’t know. I’m following my friends, the ones waiting over there at the corner.)

“De donde sos?” (Where are you from?)

“Australia.”

Sighs. “Hay algun Córdobese ahi?” (Is there someone from Córdoba over there?)

“Córdobese, no. Cordobéstia, sí.”

“ Que?”

ó

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Córdoba postscript

  1. Mr Fox says:

    “If you can’t take it in the street, how are people supposed to bring it home?”
    LONG SILENCE

    Brilliant. I could just picture the cogs in that cops brain turning and squeeking away, shocked at the humiliation of how you exposed him for the twat-on-a-power-trip that he was. Not to mention his excruciating lack of logic.

    I like it.

Leave a Reply

